High Sheriff Warwickshire
Slider 1 Slider 3 Slider 4 Slider 5

A Guide to Warwickshire from a Shrieval Perspective

The County

Warwickshire is a landlocked non-metropolitan County in the West Midlands region of England. The County town is Warwick, although the largest town is Nuneaton. The County is famous for being the birthplace of William Shakespeare.  The estimated population of Warwickshire is c 600,000 (564,562 in 2017 according to web). 

The districts of Warwickshire are North Warwickshire, Nuneaton, Bedworth, Rugby, Warwick and Stratford upon Avon and together they form the Warwickshire County Council area, and are within the 1974 boundaries.  The shape of the administrative area of Warwickshire differs considerably from that of the historic county, which also includes the now autonomous unitary authorities of Coventry and Solihull, as well as a small area around central and north east Birmingham.

The recent High Sheriffs of Warwickshire have been:

2017-18 Mr Mark Davies, CVO
2018-19 Mrs Clare Sawdon, JP
2019-20 Mr Simon Miesegaes
2020-21 Mr Joe Greenwell

The 2020/21 High Sheriffs in Warwickshire’s neighbouring counties are:

Staffordshire James Friend DL
Herefordshire Joanna Hilditch DL
Worcestershire Richard Amphlett
Shropshire Tony Morris-Eyton
Leicestershire Ian Mattioli MBE
Oxfordshire Iman Monawar Hussain MBE DL
Gloucestershire Helen Lovatt
Northamptonshire Amanda Lowther DL
West Midlands Louise Bennett OBE DL


Chief Constable Debra Tedds

Warwickshire Fire and Rescue

Chief Fire Officer Ben Brook

West Midlands Ambulance Service

Chief Executive Dr Anthony Marsh

Presiding Judges of the Midlands Service

The Honourable Mr Justice Pepperall
The Honourable Mrs Justice Carr
The Honourable Mr Justice Baker

Queen's Remembrancer

Senor Master Barbara Fontaine

Resident Judge - Warwickshire Crown Court

His Honour Judge Lockhart, QC

Chairman of the Bench, Warwickshire Magistrates

Mr Graham Hollowell, JP

Parliamentary Constituencies

Warwick and Leamington Mr Matt Western, MP
Kenilworth and Southam The Right Hon Jeremy Wright, MP, QC
Stratford upon Avon Mr Nadim Zahawi, MP
North Warwickshire Mr Craig Tracey, MP
Rugby Mr Mark Pawsey, MP
Nuneaton Mr Marcus Jones, MP


Cllr Kathryn Cargill Mayoress of Alcester
Cllr Mark Jordan Mayor of Atherstone
Cllr Caroline Symonds Mayoress of Coleshill
Cllr John McNicholas Lord Mayor of Coventry
Cllr Peter Jones Mayor of Kenilworth
Cllr Tony Clews Mayor of North Warwickshire
Cllr Robert Tromans Mayor of Nuneaton and Bedworth
Cllr Susan Rasmussen Mayoress of Royal Leamington Spa
Cllr Deepah Roberts Mayoress of Rugby
Cllr Ian Cooper Mayor of Shipston
Cllr Graham Foster Mayor of Southam
Cllr Kevin Taylor Mayor of Stratford upon Avon
Cllr Richard Edgington Mayor of Warwick
Cllr Adrian Barton Mayor of Whitnash